#Cyberpd 2013 ~ The Student Researcher

Darren Kuropatwa speaks about the shift of control from teacher to student as we ask our students to take on more of their learning responsibilities. Central to ensuring that this is a successful shift is preparing our students to cope with the volume of information to which they have access. If I am no longer the disseminator of  the content, then I must ensure that my students have the strategies and the critical thinking skills to find, filter, assess, and attribute information.

 

The Process:
I have made many Glogs over the years. I use Glogster when I need to create layers of information that my audience can choose to access. As you scroll over the Glog, those elements that are linked to on-line text will have a WWW appear. Click, and you are whisked away to relevant, supporting information. Normally, I would have the Joyce Valenza video embedded in the Glog, but it is in Vimeo, and for some unknown (the temperamental nature of the tool) reason, Vimeo was not going to embed for me today. I first made this Glog in a horizontal template, forgetting that I wanted to embed it  here. Although, you can chose code for a blog size Glog, it still appeared squashed. So, I reconstructed the Glog in a vertical template. As an aside: My grandmother used to say “stupid head makes for sore feet”. I need to update this saying to reflect the consequences of not thinking through my on-line work!

The Reflection:
I have spent hours on the ideas emerging from chapter 4 because in spite of being a teacher who has always taught researching skills, the shift of control that I want to happen in my class room means that I am not the sole purveyor of content. I want to teach with student inquiry. I want students to decide what part of “Why is global dignity important?” (for example) is meaningful to them. I want them to engage in the research process- find, filter, choose, create, attribute, share-because the work is meaningful to them. I want students to be excited about learning. 

Questions I am thinking about:

  1. How do I gain the attention of students who already think they know how to research?
  2. How much time will each step in the process need?
  3. Where will students think about their work as researchers? Journals? Blogs? Wiki? Is there choice here for students?
  4. What tools will students use to gather their research? Paper? Google docs? Wiki? Word?
  5. Will they work collaboratively? And if so, how will that happen? Google docs? Wiki? 
Leave a comment

Filed under #CyberPD, Professional Learning

Leave a Reply

