#oneword15…6 months later

 

WHY INNOVATE?

On January 1, 2015 I declared that my word of the year would be innovate:

My word is INNOVATE. But this choice has little to do with technology directly and more to do with thinking about using the curriculum in innovative ways. I want to challenge my understanding, my perspectives, my biases about the curriculum. What does it mean to construct meaning? Communicate meaning? What about to generate, gather, and organize ideas and information? What changes, if anything, when literacies include digital literacies? How might English as a discipline need to be reconsidered?

What I avoided in that initial post was answering the question why? Why innovate? And why did I choose a word that is so closely tied with technology, but not focus on the integration of technology in teaching and learning that is at the centre of so much of the educational conversation today?

I’m an English teacher, and I am not a particularly geeky English teacher either. Like most English teachers, I believe English class offers students the opportunity to engage with and consider deeply the big ideas of our lives through the stories we read. Narratives provide a lens to the world that we may otherwise never access, and that lens helps us to understand each other, which is more important today than ever before. So the study of the narrative structure and stories, which in fact, is all the Ontario English Curriculum asks us to do (“read a variety of texts”) is not the problem.

WHY ENGLISH?

Academic students* are bright, curious, and creative, but that doesn’t mean that they want to read Nineteen Eighty-Four and write an essay. And yet, is there any doubt that the majority of instructors and professors in post-secondary do still require traditional demonstrations of learning from their students?  While I believe that students need to be able to write at length to explore their thinking, I also believe that students must be fluent in digital literacies, so that they can be critical consumers and purposeful creators of digital texts.

This, then, is the current and pressing challenge for the discipline. We can neither abandon the old wholesale nor adopt the new only. We need to innovate: To find novel solutions to this important problem.

mrsdkrebs via Flickr

I let go of many of my certainties: whole class novel studies, literature circles, and lessons from the past. Instead, we choose our own novels to read, we considered various critical perspectives in small groups using the Question Formulation Technique, and we looked for new ways to have conversations about a book that no one else in the class was reading (via Goodreads, for example).  In the academic class, we collaborated to create a Mindomo map on literary theory, designed personal poetry anthologies, and blogged to think out loud about our learning.  In the college class, we considered how our worldview impacts the decisions we make, which led us into an inquiry on ethics. Students’ contributed their thinking (aka research reports) to our on-going wiki textbook: Global Perspectives: A Textbook for Teens by Teens. 

AND?

I pushed myself to push the students to own their learning, to be the designers of it. There was choice in text, in topic, in theme, in approach.  We worked on learning to be learners.

If I were to look back on the type of work I’ve done, I would say that I improved in different ways. If I hadn’t taken a risk to do certain things, I probably would have been way below than I am now.—grade 11

In the beginning of the semester, we covered a lot of things, one of them being: you cannot learn and grow if you don’t fail. During the course of this semester I have had many setbacks and failures, but that’s okay, now that I have recognized these problems I can keep working on them again next year, both in English and in my other courses.—grade 11

We still wrote essays.

Writing my second essay has proved to be better than my first one, which is probably due to my actual liking of the topic. I went into this essay having more motivation to do a good job. I actually wanted to do it. In my mind, it wasn’t me being forced to write about something I didn’t want to. It was me putting my story onto a piece of paper, which to me, is a lot more appealing than the former.—grade 11

So?

Innovation in learning is a process of self-discovery. It’s looking for unique ways to solve the problem of making the learning our own. It’s a journey to yes.

Yes, you can read what you want to. Yes, you can make that video. Yes, you can research that topic. Yes, you can write that rant. Yes, you can remix. Yes, you can Skype that person for an interview. Yes, you can research via Twitter. Yes, your poetry anthology can be digital. Yes, your poetry anthology can be non-digital. Yes…


 

*Although here I am writing about students who will pursue academic studies beyond high school, I do not think that this conversation is just about them. Students who choose to enter into apprenticeships or directly into the workplace also need many of the same literacy skills. 

5 Comments

Filed under Professional Learning, Teaching, Year End Reflection

5 responses to “#oneword15…6 months later

  1. Sue Dunlop

    Thanks for sharing your past 6 months of innovation, Julie. I bet it was rewarding for students, even if they complained about it?

  2. Ms. Balen

    Thanks for stopping by Sue. The students are becoming accustomed to having to make decisions about their learning and as they do, they are feeling empowered. After years of teachers telling them that ‘teacher knows best’, it’s understandable that there will be confusion, resistance, and reluctance to accept responsibility for their own learning.

    I love the process which blends lots of metacognition and self-regulation learning and me saying often, “What would you like to do?” Have you seen Patrick Green’s Shoulder Shrug video? I have perfected that move and the students now see it coming!

  3. Jennifer Casa-Todd

    Julie, Now I know why I was immediately drawn to you on Twitter (besides the obvious wisdom & wit that characterizes you there): you are my island English-teacher-soul-mate!! I have been in a Central role thinking about all of the ways I would innovate in the English classroom and you have done just that! Your students are very lucky! Thank you for sharing your thinking and your journey!

    • Ms. Balen

      Thanks much for stopping by Jennifer. How did you know I was looking for an English-teacher-soul-mate! Too much fun!

      I will likely write more about the idea of innovation that has little to do with the technology. While the power of what the technology can do is not up for debate, I have moved in my thinking about its role in learning. What I think we need to be after is students’ ability to make sense of their world and make decisions in their world. If students leave their schools and family homes with confidence that they are ready to meet the challenges of their world, whatever that means, then we all have done our jobs.

  4. Pingback: Innovation: Think Outside of the Triangle | ~ Mark's Musings ~ blog.markwcarbone.ca

Leave a Reply

